Gels

20 01 2007

So far we have tried only SIS gels, which although worked well kept repeating badly.  Although the taste wasn’t too great either…

Well we’ve just ordered a batch of 20 x High5 – Energy Gel Plus.  I’ll see how we get on with these on longer runs – they were recomended, but you can never tell until you’ve tried…





Week 3 Reflection

20 01 2007

Total mileage: 22.63

Not the best of weeks and I’m not too pleased with myself about it.

Monday’s session was a disappointing one – it was supposed to be fast, but I couldn’t maintain it over a mile. I ran Monday on my own (Jen runs the longer runs with me only as she can run during the day) and found that although the Railway Path (local path, previously a 5 mile railway line) is a good place for this kind of training, its on an incline. It is also quite well used by the local kids – I had the usual comments, but also at one point a group of lads filled the width of the path and would not let me pass (well not till the last second).

Wednesday was quite a good run really – we did stop momentarily, but it felt good and relaxed. Maybe should have pushed a bit harder!

Thursday was supposed to be a 4 miler! I missed a run on my first formal week :S With almost 100 mph winds in the UK I thought it was a tad dangerous to run! I should have made up for it Friday, but had personal stuff to do and what with the long Saturday run… I’m not pleased about missing a session at all, nor think my Friday excuse is particularly good – I just didn’t fit into my day.

Saturday was a good run, I felt a lot better during it than I did last week running 10 miles. I got a good 20 minutes more out of my body before starting to feel it (around 1:30:00) which is great! We also stopped less, with 2 water stops. My stomach scared me and I had to stop, we’d coverred 10 miles by then so I didn’t feel too bad stopping. I have no idea what happened there but I’ll have to monitor the situation.

Next week will be a similar week, but with slightly longer mid-week run and a 10km race suggested for Sunday. We’ve not enterred one, but will run as if racing. Hopefully I’ll get all my runs in next week.





Why a Marathon?

20 01 2007

I’ve been running, or rather plodding for about 2 years now, with last year me becoming more serious about things, increasing my distance, eating better and enterring some competitions. After running my first Half Marathon in early December and finding it ok, I need a new goal!

Jennifer, my wife, is the reserve runner for our running club to run the London Marathon on April 22nd, so needs to be fit for the race in case she is called upon. More than likely she won’t get to run it, but either way she needs to be ready.

Anyway, I’ve volunteered myself to train with her, but thought it a waste not to train for a marathon and not enter one… so we’ve both entered the Shakespear Marathon in Stratford-upon-Avon, which is the following Sunday.

I’ve created this blog after my first week of following a 16 week training program, and we are following this as if Jen is running London. We’ve entered a Half Marathon as a part of the schedule on March 11 and will insert a recovery week after then to pad out for Stratford as we should know by then if Jen is running London or not.





9 miles slow

20 01 2007

Goal:

  • Slow run 9 miles in approx 90 minutes (approx 6 mph)

Outcome:

  • 11.2 miles – 01:59:19 – 5.6 mph avg

Went much further than plan requires. This is because we are used to running 10 miles at the weekend. It seems strange to run less than that at the moment. We did take it slower than required though. We are quite slow plodders and I’m hopping that the speed sessions will improve this.

Had to stop approx 1/2 mile from home because of stomach problems, luckily they subsided and managed to get home without incident – caught up with Jen and we sped up the last 1/4 mile.